Chocolate is a Vegetable?

So word got around on the www that 7th July is Chocolate Day. Not that there is any reason to have a day to consume these supposed aphrodisiacs in unimaginable quantity, but hey, I’m totally chocolate-biased so:

HAPPY CHOCOLATE DAY, LOVELIES!

*sprinkles chocolate rice*

Here are a few chocofacts that every chocoholic ought to know:

Chocolate is derived from cacao beans. Then, sugar is added. Since both cacao and sugar are from plants, thus placing them in the vegetable category. Ultimately, chocolate is a vegetable. 

Milk chocolate was discovered by Daniel Peter and Henri Nestlé in 1876 by adding chocolate to sweetened condensed milk.

White chocolate is not chocolate. It contains ingredients such as cacao butter, cream, milk, skim milk and buttermilk.

A whole year’s harvest from one tree makes half a kilo of cocoa.

And in my desperate bid to celebrate at home, I rummaged the fridge in search of the basics of a chocolate molten lava cake. Butter, check – Sugar, check – Flour, check – Eggs, check – Baking chocolate…….. Err.. I had only 3 oz left and the recipe called for 6oz! *hangs head in shame* And na’uh, no way was I gonna half the proportions in the recipe.

I searched the fridge so hard, I could literally climb right in. Nope, still no sign of any plain chocolates. All I had were heaps of Toblerones, M&Ms, Kinder Buenos, Ritter Sport, Ferrero, Snickers and that was it?

So here’s an improvised recipe to bake my lack-of-chocolate molten lava cake:

For Cake:

100g Melted Butter

4 tbsp Caramel Sauce

8 tbsp Powdered Sugar

2 Whisked Eggs

2 Additional Egg Yolks

6 tbsp Flour

For Filling:

1 tbsp Butter

2 oz Baking Chocolate

In a bowl, whisk melted butter with caramel sauce. Add sugar and mix well. Slide in the eggs and egg yolks into the mixture. Once well-incorporated, introduce flour while whisking it. Cake batter ready!

I’m a real sucker for cakes that don’t need me to pull out too many gadgets and gizmos. Naturally, this has to be my ultimate favourite.

In a double boiler (glass or metal bowl that sits atop a pan of hot water), whip butter and chocolate until smooth – the kind of smooth you just wanna stick your finger right in for a ‘taste-test’. I took a tablespoon of this mixture and added it to my cake batter, to darken the faint brown and also to give it a faux chocolate aroma (to hush my insufficient-chocolate conscience I guess).

Now that you’re all set, butter a ramekin – I used my impulsively bought ramekin from Daiso. Cmon, it’s just $2 and it works just as well as any other. I mean, why not, right?

Pour in half of your cake batter, then spread the chocolate&butter mixture in the centre, and top it off with the rest of your cake batter.

Bake at 180°C for 12 minutes, or more if you have to. Once it’s out of the oven, leave it for a minute before inverting it on a flat plate. Grab a slice and serve with ice-cream, like I needed to tell you that!?

Time to bake some, lovelies!

You still have about 7 hours till the end of Chocolate Day today!

3 Comments

Filed under Desserts, Facts, Recipes

3 responses to “Chocolate is a Vegetable?

  1. Shiraj

    no sign of plain chocolates, but heaps of other types of chocolates,hahaha

Leave a Reply

